Learn how to reset network settings on your iPhone and what happens when you do.
- To reset the network settings on your iPhone, navigate to the "Reset" menu in the Settings app.
- A network settings reset will erase all internet and network-related data stored on your iPhone.
- Turning Airplane Mode on and off, restarting your iPhone, restarting your router, and reconnecting to WiFi can help resolve internet connectivity issues without having to do a network settings reset.
An internet connection is vital to many of the iPhone’s features and functions, from sending emails to checking the weather. If you find that your iPhone isn’t able to access the internet, even if it looks like it’s connected to WiFi or mobile data, a network settings reset may be necessary.
Here’s everything you need to know about resetting your network settings on iPhone.
What happens when you reset your network settings on iPhone
This is not a complete removal of your settings and content. But the following will occur:
- Your saved Wi-Fi names and passwords will be deleted.
- Custom DNS settings, if any, will be deleted.
- Cellular preferences will be removed. Your cellular data usage will be reset (Settings > Cellular > Usage).
- Bluetooth preferences will be deleted. All of your saved paired connections will be removed.
- If you are using a VPN, your VPN settings (server names, passwords, etc.) will be deleted.
- Your iPhone name (Settings > General > About) will be reset to the default, which is iPhone.
What Reset Network Settings does not do
- Your content will not be deleted. This means that, for example:
- Your photos, videos, files or folders, etc., will stay.
- Your email and email accounts will stay.
- Your messages will stay.
- Your other settings will not be changed. These include, but are not limited to:
- Home screen layout.
- Location and privacy settings.
- Apple Pay cards.
- Your app settings.
- Your iCloud or Apple ID settings.
- Your sound settings (notifications, etc.).
- Display settings (wallpaper, etc.).
- Phone calls, the ability to send texts or iMessages, and other classic telephone services are not affected. These are already pre-configured.
When to Reset Network Settings
All reset options, including the network one, are a last resort after you have done other troubleshooting steps (I list some below) without success. The most common reason for resetting network settings is to fix network connection problems. These may include, but are not limited to:
- If you cannot connect to Wi-Fi. For example, if you cannot use services that require an active Internet connection, such as browsing the web or using FaceTime.
- If you are having cellular issues. For example, if you see no service, searching or SOS on your screen.
- If you cannot make or receive phone calls.
What to try before you reset your network settings
Before you reset your network settings, first try completing a few troubleshooting steps. Some of the general strategies for fixing network problems include:
- Turning your iPhone off and on
- Turning Airplane mode on and off.
- Updating to the latest version of iOS
- Restarting your modem or router.
- Forgetting and reconnecting to your WiFi network.
How to reset network settings on your iPhone
Finally, if you’re still having issues connecting to the internet, reset your network settings.
- Open the Settings app.
- Tap General.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap Transfer or Reset iPhone.
- Tap Reset.
- Tap Reset Network Settings.
- Enter your passcode if prompted, then tap Reset Network Settings to confirm your choice.
Reset Network Settings to Fix Connectivity Problems on Your iPhone
Whether you’re facing issues with your Wi-Fi or cellular data connection, you can reset your iPhone’s network settings to fix the problem within seconds. It only takes a couple of minutes and is a quick process.
This solution is effective most of the time, but remember that doing this will remove all the saved Wi-Fi networks and paired devices, and you will have to connect to them again manually, which will take some time.